To Outline, Or Not To Outline… That Is The Question

Happy Wednesday readers! It’s been a while since we last caught up, and I apologize for that my lovelies.

So what brings me here today? The question that I have been asking not only myself, but my Facebook followers and even some of my fellow authors.

The Big Question: Is creating an outline for a story the way to go?

I’ve heard so many mixed reviews on this writing practice. Personally, I love having a lot of material to work off of when I write. But is creating an outline really the way to go? Or does it stifle a writers creative freedoms?

Honestly, I’ve been a little afraid to try writing an outline for any of the three novel ideas I have been stewing over in my brain. Why? I don’t even know really.

Is it a fear of committing to an idea? Or maybe a fear that it will stifle my creative flow. I’m not sure.

Two of my novel ideas are based on very life like events, meaning they either where things related from personal experience, or they where events around me that inspired these stories.

Logically, these two stories may be easier to write with a detailed outline, because then I won’t run as big of a risk of forgetting a detail or something along those lines.

But then will the outline take away from the creative aspect of the story? I don’t want these stories to become works of non-fiction, so what do I do?

That is my question to you, my readers. What do you think about creating outlines? Are they helpful? Or are they more trouble than they are worth?

Answer the poll below, or leave me your thoughts in the form of a comment! I’m excited to see what you all have to say!

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

5 responses to “To Outline, Or Not To Outline… That Is The Question

Leave a Reply

