4 out of 5 stars for “Blackbird” by Cheryl McIntyre

Photo Credit: Goodreads

Photo Credit: Goodreads

“Do you still love me?” he whispers into my lips.

“Yes,” I moan.

“Then it’s never too late.”

“Blackbird” is the novella that takes place during the final chapter of McIntyre’s novel, “Sometimes Never” and the Epilog. In this novella, readers finally get to see what happens between Hope and Mason once Hope turns 18, they both graduate high school and through the start of college.

What’s my take on this short little novella? Honestly, it was much too short… I found myself feeling as if I was being rushed through the entire story! That being said, I NEED to say that I absolutely fell in love with this book, just as I did with “Sometimes Never.” Even though I felt rushed through each scene, I still felt like I was right there in the middle of it all!

Cheryl, once again, does an amazing job of putting readers right into the shoes of both Hope and Mason, which can sometimes be a difficult thing to do when writing from two character’s point of view. Cheryl makes it look like a piece of cake!

Hope is still a symbol throughout the novella as we watch her face her demons head on and as we watch her struggle through some of the toughest moments of her life. The same can be said of Mason and of his struggles to see if he’s made the right choices.

Many people like to mock the idea of young love, that it isn’t real and/or it’s just a result of the ever present teenage hormones rampaging through young bodies. In this novella, Cheryl proves that young love can be true love, and that it can survive some of life’s toughest situations. Yes, these feelings are new and intense, but it can be lasting and it can be true.

Overall, even though I felt a little unsatisfied with the way the story flew through some important events, I still say that Cheryl McIntyre has earned a solid 4 out of 5 stars for this work! It fills in many of the gaps and makes us fall even more in love with the Hope/Mason team. Cheryl, another great piece of work, and I am looking forward to more of your work!

 

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

Leave a Reply

