Blogging from A to Z: Day 15 – Oedipal Complex

Sophocles. Cast

Sophocles. Cast (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s Wednesday guys! I love this day of the week, even though its always a busy one, it also signals the halfway point in the week and that makes me happy! Let’s be honest, who doesn’t get happy thinking about the weekend being so much closer? Anywho, today is day 15 of the challenge, and that means we are on the letter “O.” And again, I couldn’t help but go back to my Greek and Roman classes and be drawn right to one of my favorite stories, Oedipus Rex by Sophocles. I could rave on and on about this story… but I won’t, because that’s not the purpose of today’s blog. 😉 My word for the day stems from Sophocles’ story and is the term the Oedipal Complex.

Now, I know there are a lot of mythology buffs out there that could probably provide a better definition of the phrase, but I’m just going to use the following:

a complex of males; desire to possess the mother sexually and to exclude the father; said to be a source of personality disorders if unresolved (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/Oedipal+complex)

Like I mentioned, that is one of the very BASIC definitions of the term. Feel free to share the more complex definitions that you all may have! Anyways, the concept of the Oedipal complex has always intrigued me a little bit because it could take a story into such a crazy number of directions, its not even funny. The main subject is almost always male, mainly for the reason that the definition has a lot to do with the fixations of the male characters towards their mothers. The psychologist, Sigmund Freud, had said that these fixations had so much to do with the natural growth process, but that sometimes children could basically get stuck in any number of these phases and that is where the Oedipal Complex really starts to come into play.

Here is my question, what do you all think of this topic? I know that I’m completly intrigued by it for a number of random reasons, and I would love to hear what others have to say about this topic. Would you consider it a taboo? Is it something to be considered normal? Have you seen it in more recent stories that you have either read and/or wrote? Please! Comment and share! I’m can’t wait to see what everyone else thinks of!

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

One response to “Blogging from A to Z: Day 15 – Oedipal Complex

Leave a Reply

