Blogging from A to Z: Day 9 – Ideal Reader

Recent, present and future reading material

Recent, present and future reading material (Photo credit: Arria Belli)

Happy Wednesday readers! Well, we’ve made it to day 9 of the event, and I have to say, I’m very proud of myself! I didn’t think I would even make it this far to be completely honest with you… So I’m excited! Day 9 means we are on the letter “I”, and I’ve picked another word that wasn’t on my list. Today I want to ask you all what an ideal reader is.

I ask this because I got into another discussion today with a few of my classmates on this very discussion today while setting up an event on campus. According to a few sites, an ideal reader can be defined as:

The imaginary audience who would, ideally, understand every phrase, word, and allusion in a literary work, and who would completly understand the literary experience an author presents, and then responds emotionally as the writer wished (http://web.cn.edu/kwheeler/lit_terms_I.html)

The above definition is defiantly the one we favored, just an FYI. While I believe that there really is no such thing as an idea reader, I do believe that, when writing, you have to keep an ideal reader in mind. Why do I believe this? Well honestly, if I didn’t keep an ideal reader in mind, then I wouldn’t create a piece of work worth very much. It helps me push my limits, and to keep moving forward when I really don’t think I can.

Now I know this is a short post, again working on a phone app is very difficult… But my question to you all today is this: If you could describe your ideal reader, that person that you are writing for, who would it be? I would love to know what you all think on this topic, so please comment and share!

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

Leave a Reply

