Words: An Escape

Words

Words (Photo credit: sirwiseowl)

So, for my readers who have visited my blog regularly, I’m sure you’ve noticed my tagline that can be found on every page. If you are new, and/or haven’t seen it, it is the following quote:

“At some point you have to choose between life and fiction.” ~The Words

This quote comes from the movie The Words which is about a man who wants nothing more then to make it as a writer. After finding a manuscript in a vintage briefcase that he purchases while on vacation, he reads it and is deeply inspired. He wishes for nothing more then to be as great of a writer as the author of this mystery manuscript. This manuscript quite literally becomes his life…. To know more, you’ll have to watch the movie yourself!

Anyway, this quote has stuck with me the past month or so and is really a big reason why I chose this year to get back into my writing. It reminded me that my passion was creating new worlds that seemed so real that the word ‘fiction’ never even crossed my readers minds.

To me, this quote brings up some really important questions. Why do we have to choose between fiction and life? Why can’t we have both? As a reader growing up, fiction books where my escape. I loved picking up a new book and run away to different worlds so far away from my own, that sometimes it almost seemed real. It was this feeling that inspired me to become a writer. I want to be able to create these same worlds, these same situations, and these same feelings.

To have that escape is to have a slice of perfection, and yet, I know that may not make sense to some, but I know to me it does. Who doesn’t want to live in a secret little world for a while? Isn’t that the purpose of reading in general? And writers, do you ever get lost in the world you are creating? I know I do. It’s one thing to run away to someone elses worold, but to run away to your very own creation? That’s the biggest thrill!

What are your thoughts on this idea of words creating an escape? Feel free to leave comments or find me on my twitter to give me your insights!

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

Leave a Reply

