Music, Inspiration and My Challenge

Alright guys! Now that I finally figured out how to organize all my categories and pages, I can finally start my more personal blog posts!

So with that being said, most of the things that I will be posting under my blog will include my writing journey. This has been something I’ve always wanted to do because I have always found that sharing my ideas and journey helps me keep motivated on my writing and my personal growth in the area. I also feel like having things such as these out in the open can allow for more conversation, which helps with feedback and all that! Because let’s get real, we can all lock ourselves in a room and into our own minds, but if we can’t get feedback on ideas, then we won’t ever know if we are making any actual progress.

Now, what I’ve been just recently figuring out is that I’m very inspired by music. This isn’t very new to those of us who have been writing for our entire lives, but to me I always felt that if I was inspired by something as common as music, it would lead to very generic ideas.

After reading some of the extra material in the Kindle version of Stephanie Meyer’s novel: “The Host” I saw that she included an excerpt that had a passage from each chapter and as the heading for each passage was a song title. As I read through this section, I was in complete awe. Here I have believed that doing something like this wasn’t even possible, and yet Stephanie Meyer could make it seem so easy and well, normal.

For many, music plays a huge part in how people see and/or live their lives. Let’s get real, who hasn’t wished that they could live real moments that have a certain special song playing in the background like it does in the movies. I sure know I have!

So what am I getting at? My journey back into writing needed a push. I wanted to make 2013 the year that I sit down and really start planning out and even writing my first full novel. I’ve always had ideas, but my problem has always been that I get so far and then automatically trash it because I feel like it’s missing too many important things such as development, ‘moments’, and in many cases, actual feeling.

I needed a way to create moments in my writing that really make readers “feel,” and I could never figure out a good way to help me develop this area further. So with my new found inspiration from music, I have issued a challenge to myself. For the entire month of January, I have been collecting a list from my music library that really makes me feel. I’m talking a wide range too; things that make me feel love, hate, sadness, all of it! Then beginning in February, I want to take each song I have complied and write out a scene based on the feel of the song or maybe a section of the lyrics.

This is my challenge to myself, but I hope that some others that struggle in this area will give this idea a try! I think it could be very beneficial! I’ll try and keep you all updated on my personal progress, and if you decide to give it a try, I’d love to hear about your progress!

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

Leave a Reply

