“Precise” by Rebecca Berto

Precise (Photo credit: http://rebeccaberto.com/)

Precise (Photo credit: http://rebeccaberto.com/)

Well hello my dear readers! I have a new adventure for you all! So after posting my first blog on January 20th, 2013; one of my first followers was a young lady by the name of Rebecca Berto, aka: Novel Girl. Little did I know, she was a published author! That was quite exciting to find out! What I loved even more was the fact that she was a young author, one that I’ve never heard of! I have to say, I love finding new authors! (*hint hint*)

Well, enough of that, time to get to the book itself!

Precise was published in November 2012 and  takes readers on journey with a young newlywed girl by the name of Katie Anselin and her ‘Mommy’ issues. Now I know that most people would see that term as a negative one when it comes to reviews, but I find it very intriguing! The main character Katie knows her mother hates her and blames her for the lose of so many potential children (mother Rochelle has had many rough pregnancies that end in either miscarriages or stillborn). She has lived her life trying to appeal to her mother, and show her that she is worth loving.

Truth is, she fears her mother because she never knows when she will unleash her anger. It takes an unexpected pregnancy at the age of 22 for Katie to come to some form of realization as to why it is her mother hates her so much.

“In Rochelle’s quest for power, Katie and Paul’s baby is the pawn.” ~From Rebecca Berto’s Site: Novel Girl

To take this journey with Katie, well, you will just have to get the book and read it for yourself!

Now, what would I rank this book? After mulling it over for a while, I have to give the book a 4 out of 5 stars. This book ‘goes there’ and discusses a topic that I haven’t seen approached in a rather long time. Yes, we have a young love story, a young pregnancy story, but we don’t have that ideal relationship between mother and daughter. Yes, I’m sure many people will disagree with me on this, but I see this as a topic that is considered unapproachable. What I mean is that this topic is almost considered  taboo. Rebecca, I give you credit for taking the path less traveled!

The emotions that are presented are often a little confusing at times, but that only helps to put the reader in the character’s situation. Should Katie feel guilty for her mother’s condition? And in the end when she figures it out, we feel the sense of empowerment that she feels! Or at least I know I did! The emotions are raw and very much real. I’m sure there are many girls that feel like they have either been in or currently are in the shoes of the main character.

This book is relatable to a variety of audiences. As mentioned previously, there are girls everywhere in the same position as Katie. There are also boys in the same position as Paul and Liam (the husband and the best friend). We see people like this all the time and don’t even realize it. Who knows, this book could be a tool in the future empowerment of young men and women alike; much like the book “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” and many of its kind that, again, that aren’t afraid to ‘go there’ with the taboo and touchy subjects of our day and age.

The only real down side I found to this book is that I felt it was a little too rushed in the beginning. We are introduced to a character with a problem and then BAM! The big pregnancy comes along. Now I now this story was the backstory to Rebecca’s book, “Pulling Me Under,” but I still think there is a little room for improvement in the beginning!

But other then that, I have to say, I’m very glad that this author crossed my path and I am very excited about reading her next novel! If you want to learn more about the author and or how to get your hands on a copy of the book, please give her pages a visit!

Website at: http://rebeccaberto.com/
Twitter: @rebeccaberto
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rebecca-Berto-Novel-Girl/209018375858083

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

3 responses to ““Precise” by Rebecca Berto

Leave a Reply

