“The Host” By Stephenie Meyer

The Host

The Host (Photo credit: Muskingum University Library)

The Book, “The Host”, written by Stephenie Meyer is the first book that has inspired me to go out there and and give my own thoughts. A little known secret about myself is that I am a major “Twilight” geek…. Though I have to say, I was not a big fan of how the books where actually written. The story behind the books? Loved it; but I know there are plenty of people out there that would agree with me that there was just something…. lacking in Meyer’s Twilight Saga.

Her first book outside of the Twilight Saga, “The Host”, was actually published back in May 6th, 2008, but it really didn’t catch on as did her supernatural love story. So why talk about it now? Yes, that would be the big question here, now wouldn’t it? Well, the answer is simple. The book is actually scheduled to become a movie later on this spring. The expected release date is March 29th, 2013, and I have to say, I’m very interested in figuring out how the movie will do, especially with the dramatic ending to the Twilight Saga finale this past November.

Now I will say this, I had heard of the book way back when it first came out… but there wasn’t anything about it that seemed to particularly peek my interest. But once I saw the movie trailer this past holiday break, I had to admit that the romance grabbed my attention right off the bat. So of course, being the romance freak that I am, I immediately bought the book for my Kindle Fire HD and dove right on into it.

Here is what surprised me…. I started reading because I was expecting a hot love affair of some kind (as previewed in the deceptive movie trailer), but what I was faced with was an battle I wasn’t expecting. Publisher’s Weekly summed it up wonderfully for me:

“In this tantalizing SF thriller, planet-hopping parasites are inserting their silvery centipede selves into human brains, curing cancer, eliminating war and turning Earth into paradise. But some people want Earth back, warts and all, especially Melanie Stryder, who refuses to surrender, even after being captured in Chicago and becoming a host for a “soul” called Wanderer. The straightforward narrative… shines with romantic intrigue.” ~Found on StephenieMeyer.com

What this book brings that the Twilight Saga doesn’t, is a sense of reality. Yes, I do realize that using the word reality may not be the best choice, but to me, it is the best choice. This book could, in some ways, be described as post-apocalyptic. The human race is on the verge of extinction (so to speak), so it fit in well with the recent “end of the world” craziness that just past this last December. But what I really mean is that it really does make you (or at least it did for me) sit down and think about what you would do. If put in the situation that these characters face, both the humans and the invading “souls”, I’m not sure what path I would choose, and it brings up many different questions.

What price does paradise hold for us? Are we as humans really capable of understanding what we have before it’s gone? And are we truly grateful for all of the things that we have? These are only some of the questions that readers are presented with, and I have to say, it made me sit and really think, unlike Meyer’s Twilight Saga, about what I have and realize what is important to me. The book really is captivating on a level that most wouldn’t expect from the Author, and I was surprised at just how much I loved it considering it had more action and thrill to it then the more expected romance that Meyer is known for.

About Cassie Boss

Cassie Boss is a freelance writer with a passion for both reading and writing. When she isn’t hidden away enjoying a good book, she specializes in writing about celebrities and the entertainment world. In addition to writing for The Inquisitr, her work has also been featured on The Richest. When she isn’t working, Cassie enjoys not only a good book, but also working on her own fiction writing, watching too much television and snuggling with her puppies. View all posts by Cassie Boss

Leave a Reply

